The Colors of Life

You are here

Need opinions

39 posts / 0 new
Last post
CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Need opinions
on the new donkey color genetics page. http://www.equine-color.info/node/13 I do plan on getting pictures up as soon as I get them.
CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Well I was disappointed on the lack of opinions, but the page has been updated with photos.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
Paintlover
Paintlover's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 8 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

It looks nice to me!! I am not as familiar with donkey genetics but everything seems to be in order.

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

The genetics for donkeys are very similar to horses. I'm trying to get more people familiar with the colors to hopefully get more people to own them thus leading the scientists? to do more research on their genetics.
Also they make great pets! Very different from horses attitude wise.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
supaspot60
supaspot60's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 8 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

interesting page , Ive learnt that donkeys can have blue eyes :o

Daylene Alford
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 4 days ago
Joined: 02/12/09
Re: Need opinions

That page looks wonderful! I'm going to go ahead and add it to the primary links.

Monsterpony
Monsterpony's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 6 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

The page is very cool. I really don't know much about donkey genetics, but it does look fairly similar to horses. The only pics that I have of donkeys are of our one very obese grey dun Miniature Mediterranean.

.

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Well I need pictures of donkeys without panger and just plain base colors only. Also need more with spotting. I was hoping more people would have a donkey or two but I guess people dont find them as adorable as horses, but I would recomend one as a pet! My Ellie is the sweetest, strangest thing.Also mini and regular donkies are good guard animals.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
NZ Appaloosas
NZ Appaloosas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 7 months ago
Joined: 02/14/09
Re: Need opinions

I actually haven't been navigating around much on the site :oops: Things are somewhat hectic at the moment (to the point where I forgot about a new mare we're getting).

Diane

critterkeeper
critterkeeper's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 3 months ago
Joined: 02/15/09
Re: Need opinions

Nice site -- now all you need is one of those "appy" spotted ones (they are so adorable).

Diane - you FORGOT a new horse? What have you been drinking woman??? If it's that good, want to share? :toast

Kylene "A dog has lots of friends because he wags his tail and not his tongue." ~ Anonymous

Sara
Sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Do you want the donkey page proofread? I don't know enough about the genetics to comment on that, but I'm pretty good at catching spelling and grammatical errors. I wasn't sure if that's what you wanted so I had not commented.

[url=http://www.myrewyn.com/]Myrewyn Equestrian[/url]

[url=http://myrewyn.com/sales/]New! Updated sales list.[/url]

Daylene Alford
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 4 days ago
Joined: 02/12/09
Re: Need opinions

ROFL I actually know someone who has one of those appy spotted minimules...let me see if i can get a picture from her...

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Yea, it needs to be proof read and made sure that things that are there sound like the make sence...and it is being updated several times a week as I find more things about color. About mules, I thought about putting together a small page about them as I did find some information about what color patterns you usually get from different color crosses and whatnot.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
Sara
Sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

the plural of donkey is donkeys.

Donkey color genetics have not been well discovered, but is being researched more as breeding donkies becomes more popular.

I would say something like "Donkey color genetics are not yet well understood, but are being researched more as breeding donkeys becomes more popular."

Sorrel(red)
Black pigment is surpressed and body color is a reddish color.Can only be heterozygous(ee) since sorrel is a recessive gene.

Wouldn't this be homozygous?

Ivory is very similar to double diluted horses.

I would change double dilute to homozygous cream to avoid confusion since there are other dilutions.

Donkies without pangare are rare, but not too uncommon.

This sounds conflicting. I would say "Donkeys without pangare are rare but do exist."

Effects red and black

Someone correct me if I have this one wrong, but I'm pretty sure that when it is a verb, it is spelled affects.

Spotting is a dominant to non spotting

remove the "a" between is and dominant.

The plural of mini is minis. (without an apostrophe)

[url=http://www.myrewyn.com/]Myrewyn Equestrian[/url]

[url=http://myrewyn.com/sales/]New! Updated sales list.[/url]

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

ok, I fixed what you said. How does it look? and what does it still need besides pictures?
Also I do plan on being more descriptive about the different roan colors.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
Monsterpony
Monsterpony's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 6 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Someone correct me if I have this one wrong, but I'm pretty sure that when it is a verb, it is spelled affects.

You're correct. Affect is the verb and effect is a noun.

.

Sara
Sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

oops! I just caught another spelling error -- suppressed.

and in the dun section, almost the same instead of the almost same.

You missed a few donkey plurals..

and a question. Is homozygous spotting thought to be lethal?

Looks good, now you just need more photos! :)

[url=http://www.myrewyn.com/]Myrewyn Equestrian[/url]

[url=http://myrewyn.com/sales/]New! Updated sales list.[/url]

NZ Appaloosas
NZ Appaloosas's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 7 months ago
Joined: 02/14/09
Re: Need opinions

Diane - you FORGOT a new horse? What have you been drinking woman??? If it's that good, want to share? :toast

In my defence, she's not with us yet, we only contracted for her a while back, based on my liking her when I last saw her over a year ago.

Diane

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Homozygous spotting gene is thought to be leathal (similar to LWO) but it has not been proven yet. AMDS(american mule? and donkey society) requests that anyone that has a pure white or almost white foal that dies soon after birth or is born dead to contact them immediately and send it to get an autopsy. A few cases have been reported but they still were not sent to a place to get an autopsy or anything.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

I edited and updated the donkey color page.
Also Sara, do you think you could proof read this dilutes page?
http://www.equine-color.info/?q=node/9

Also is there any kind of intrest for a mule color page? maby just put at the bottom of the donkey page?
I figured more people would own donkeys but I guess they don't, so I dont know how many people own or breed or care about mule colors and whats most likely to get you what color mule.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
Sara
Sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Sure, I'll proofread that one too. I like doing it.

I think you should give mules their own page.

[url=http://www.myrewyn.com/]Myrewyn Equestrian[/url]

[url=http://myrewyn.com/sales/]New! Updated sales list.[/url]

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Okay, but is there any intrest in a mule page at all? Or should I just make one for a reference for people. Alot of coding goes into pages I make at least and I dont really have time to make ones that are not really wanted.

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
Daylene Alford
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 4 days ago
Joined: 02/12/09
Re: Need opinions

I think there would be interest in a mule page. However, don't feel like you have to do it or even if you want to that you have to do it right now. I know your busy and you've already done alot.

The mule page can wait for a while.

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Some days I have alot of free time. A mule page will be here soon as there is not a whole lot of information about them genetically. Mainly the info is about what to breed to get the best chance at a pinto or one with high leg white etc...

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
Sara
Sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

I edited and updated the donkey color page.
Also Sara, do you think you could proof read this dilutes page?
http://www.equine-color.info/?q=node/9

Cream is what is know as a

known as an

dominate

dominant

effects should be affects, as on the other page. There are several of these so do a word search for it.

regardless of the color of its mates color

redundant

Palominos can also rarely have self-colored manes and tails.

Isn't your first silver mini also grey? That could be confusing.

[url=http://www.myrewyn.com/]Myrewyn Equestrian[/url]

[url=http://myrewyn.com/sales/]New! Updated sales list.[/url]

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

updated

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

Can I get suggestions on this page?
http://www.equine-color.info/node/17

I think it might need more clarification about base colors,dilutes,etc...

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
Sara
Sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

I don't get the following:

Overo horse pattern has never been seen in mules as it is a double recessive.

[url=http://www.myrewyn.com/]Myrewyn Equestrian[/url]

[url=http://myrewyn.com/sales/]New! Updated sales list.[/url]

CMhorses
CMhorses's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 5 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

I think that was from where I was just writing down stuff from other sites and it should be more of, frame has never been seen in mules.
...I think it was like 3am when I wrote that part...

Fixed it

IMAGE(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y291/PeauxnyLover/elliecopy.jpg) Thank you Krickette!! IMAGE(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c143/Sn0wLe0pard/Animals/Banner2.jpg)
greasedweasel
greasedweasel's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 7 months ago
Joined: 03/07/09
Re: Need opinions

Nice to see a mule page - i do a bit with mules in the UK so if I can help hunting out photos or anything shout...

Gratuitous Treacle photo....

IMAGE(http://inlinethumb15.webshots.com/18190/2987819830075128712S425x425Q85.jpg)

IMAGE(http://inlinethumb15.webshots.com/24142/2719968800075128712S500x500Q85.jpg)

Sara
Sara's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Joined: 02/13/09
Re: Need opinions

:X Treacle!

[url=http://www.myrewyn.com/]Myrewyn Equestrian[/url]

[url=http://myrewyn.com/sales/]New! Updated sales list.[/url]

Pages

pandemonium